2022 08 28 Bedford All Stars Anthony Macri Paul Arch Photo Dsc 3043 32a.jpg
Anthony Macri in victory lane at Bedford Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

Macri Masters Bedford All Stars

BEDFORD, Pa. — Anthony Macri drove the Sam McGhee Motorsports No. 11 sprint car to victory in Sunday night‘s Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 main event at Bedford Speedway.

Macri‘s victory came in the Junior Ritchey Tribute that concluded the inaugural Tri-State Summer Swing presented by Elliott‘s Custom Trailers and Carts. It was Macri‘s sixth All Star victory of the season and his 18th overall triumph of the year.

The 2022 Bob Weikert Memorial and Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race champion led all 30 circuits around Bedford‘s half-mile, his second-ever All Star victory at the historic south-central Pennsylvania fairgrounds.

Although in charge the entire distance, Macri‘s campaign at the front of the field did not go completely unchallenged. Justin Peck, who recently snagged his eighth All Star win of the year in Lincoln Speedway‘s Kramer Klash, mounted some heavy pressure on the former Posse rep turned All Star, showing his nose on multiple occasions between laps 12 and 14.

Heavy traffic helped Peck‘s cause, but unfortunately, the pilot of the Buch Motorsports No. 13 suffered a flat on lap 24 forcing the All Star championship contender to go pit side.

Despite the caution, eventually resulting in an open red, Macri held strong, driving on to keep Tyler Courtney, Sye Lynch, Mike Wagner and Gio Scelzi at bay.

“I think I‘ve been to Bedford three times and I‘ve won two of them…it‘s a place that really fits my driving style,” Macri explained, who earned $2,225 in lap money on top of his $6,000 payday. “These guys gave me an awesome car tonight. They all work so well together and all know what they have to do. I just can‘t thank Mike and Kathy McGhee enough for the opportunity to be a part of this race team…I really can‘t thank them enough.”

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 11-Anthony Macri [1]; 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [5]; 3. 42-Sye Lynch [4]; 4. 55W-Mike Wagner [6]; 5. 18-Gio Scelzi [7]; 6. 91-Kyle Reinhardt [11]; 7. 17B-Bill Balog [2]; 8. 19-Chris Windom [10]; 9. 13-Justin Peck [3]; 10. 4-Cap Henry [16]; 11. 26-Zeb Wise [13]; 12. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg [8]; 13. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [14]; 14. 44-Dylan Norris [12]; 15. 75-Tyler Ross [15]; 16. 17-Jordan Thomas [9]; 17. 86-Ron Aurand [18]; 18. 90-Jordan Givler [17]; 19. 22-Cole Duncan [19]

error: Content is protected !!