2021 Ascs Sooner Longdale Roger Crockett Battle Rudy Garcia Photo
Roger Crockett (11) won Friday's ASCS Sooner Region event at Longdale Speedway. (Rudy Garcia photo)

Crockett Corrals Longdale Sprint Spoils

LONGDALE, Okla. – Rolling into victory lane on night one of the Walleye Rodeo Roundup at Longdale Speedway, Roger Crockett became the 86th different driver to win with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products.

Friday marked Crockett’s 40th career ASCS regional victory, while the ASCS Sooner Region is the fifth ASCS branch that Crockett has scored a win in.

Taking the green sixth, Crockett moved to fourth on the opening lap. Chasing the top three into the third and fourth turns on lap three, race leader Whit Gastineau began flipping violently, collecting Jeremy Campbell and Danny Jennings in the process. All drivers were able to walk away.

That put the lead in Crockett’s hands on the restart, and the Broken Arrow driver had to hold on through several cautions while the groove migrated to the bottom of the three-eighths-mile oval.

The final caution waved with eight laps to go before the dash to the finish saw Crockett expand his lead to 2.267 seconds at the drop of the checkered flag.

Tyler Thomas made it to second from eighth, with Missouri’s Garet Williamson’s debut at the Oklahoma oval ending on the final podium step. Steven Shebester advanced from 15th to fourth, with Andrew Deal climbing from 14th to finish fifth.

Zach Chappell rolled ahead six positions to sixth, followed by Ryan Timms, who charged to seventh from 13th. Jeff Stasa in eighth was the night’s hard charger after gaining 12 positions, while Brandon Anderson and Lance Norick closed the top 10.

The finish:

A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett [6]; 2. 91T-Tyler Thomas [8]; 3. 24-Garet Williamson [7]; 4. 23B-Steven Shebester [15]; 5. 15D-Andrew Deal [14]; 6. 50Z-Zach Chappell [12]; 7. 5T-Ryan Timms [13]; 8. 91-Jeff Stasa [20]; 9. 55B-Brandon Anderson [4]; 10. 90-Lance Norick [16]; 11. 85-Forrest Sutherland [17]; 12. 97-Kevin Cummings [21]; 13. 10P-Dylan Postier [19]; 14. 9$-Kyle Clark [10]; 15. 1X-Jake Bubak [5]; 16. 27B-Jake Martens [11]; 17. 10C-Jeremy Campbell [1]; 18. 1J-Danny Jennings [3]; 19. 777-Bailey Hughes [18]; 20. 2C-Whit Gastineau [2]; 21. 1-Sean McClelland [9].

error: Content is protected !!