Ascs Sw Podium.jpg
Sam Hafertepe Jr. (center) shares the podium with Justin Sanders and Wes Wofford. (ASCS photo)

Hafertepe Controls Cocopah Sprint

SOMERTON, Ariz. — Besting a field of 33 on Friday night, Sam Hafertepe Jr. won every time he was on track with the ASCS Southwest Region at Cocopah Speedway.

The opening night of the Keith Bryan Memorial, the win is Hafertepe‘s second with the Arizona-based tour. Stretching his lead to 2.915 seconds over the opening 16 laps before the caution lights shown around the three-eighths-mile oval, the restart saw Hafertepe again pull away.

Winning by 1.406 seconds, Hafertepe was followed to the line by California‘s Justin Sanders, with New Mexico‘s Wes Wofford taking the final podium step.

J.T. Imperial and Canada‘s Robbie Price, from 13th, completed the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[1]; 2. 2X-Justin Sanders[2]; 3. 19-Wes Wofford[5]; 4. 75-JT Imperial[3]; 5. 39-Robbie Price[13]; 6. 41-Colton Hardy[8]; 7. 13-Mark Dobmeier[4]; 8. 91-Chase Goetz[14]; 9. 2XM-Max Mittry[6]; 10. 19T-Colby Thornhill[10]; 11. 88-Travis Reber[15]; 12. 2L-Logan Forler[20]; 13. 33S-Lance Sargent[11]; 14. 47-Charles Davis Jr[16]; 15. 01-Skylar Gee[18]; 16. 17-Cam Smith[9]; 17. 44-Eric Wilkins[24]; 18. 14H-Dylan Harris[23]; 19. 34-Sterling Cling[22]; 20. (DNF) 63-JJ Hickle[12]; 21. (DNF) 2JR-Kelly Miller[19]; 22. (DNF) 18-Lorne Wofford[17]; 23. (DNF) 116-Vance Wofford[21]; 24. (DNF) 115-Nick Parker[7]

error: Content is protected !!