Sam Hafertepe Jr. in victory lane. (ASCS photo)

Hafertepe Does It Again In ASCS Action

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Even a flat left-front tire during the final four laps of Saturday’s feature wasn’t enough to slow Sam Hafertepe Jr., who led from start to finish to win the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series event at I-30 Speedway.

“I just got a little too greedy,” chuckled Hafertepe. “I did that with about four laps to go, and I just started being careful, so it didn’t dig in.”

Hafertepe’s third career victory with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network at the Arkansas quarter-mile oval, was his 50th overall with the National Tour since 2010.

Fending off numerous restart attempts at the lead by Mississippi’s Dale Howard, the No. 15h used the final 15 lap green flag run to stretch his advantage to 2.747 seconds.

Battling with Roger Crockett over the last half of the Feature, the pair went side by side several times as Howard held off the No. 11.

Blake Hahn grabbed third on lap 26 after Dale and Roger nearly made contact. Blake was able to hold on to complete the night’s podium after starting seventh on the grid. Roger Crockett ended up fourth with Jordan Mallett, from 11th, taking the fifth position on the closing lap.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[1]; 2. 47-Dale Howard[2]; 3. 52-Blake Hahn[7]; 4. 11-Roger Crockett[6]; 5. 14-Jordon Mallett[11]; 6. 24-Garet Williamson[12]; 7. G6-Cody Gardner[8]; 8. 3-Howard Moore[19]; 9. 95-Matt Covington[9]; 10. 9-Chase Randall[10]; 11. 1X-Tim Crawley[17]; 12. 8Z-Zach Pringle[13]; 13. 91A-Ernie Ainsworth[14]; 14. 47X-Dylan Westbrook[18]; 15. 15J-Jeremy Middleton[15]; 16. 99-Blake Jenkins[22]; 17. 24W-Jeffrey West Jr[20]; 18. 5-Eric Lutz[21]; 19. 30-Joseph Miller[25]; 20. (DNF) 17W-Harli White[23]; 21. (DNF) 16A-Justin Sanders[5]; 22. (DNF) 88-Travis Reber[16]; 23. (DNF) 14E-Kyle Bellm[3]; 24. (DNF) J2-John Carney II[4]; 25. (DNF) 21P-Robbie Price[24]


error: Content is protected !!