Img 0381
Blane Heimbach (Dan Demarco photo)

Heimbach Hustles To ASCS Score

SELINSGROVE, Pa. — Making a late-race run for the win after a lap-17 caution flag, Blane Heimbach remained undefeated in the RiteWay Sealing and Paving Battle of the Groves Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

The event was co-sanctioned by the United Racing Club 360 Sprint Car Series.

“I didn’t even realize I was running second on that restart,” chuckled Heimbach.

Talking about the run, a late-race change to the wing was the key to getting to the lead, “I was not good at all. I missed the setup and just could not get any speed. The No. 28 [Bogucki] was able to move around, and I just couldn’t, so under that yellow, I grabbed the only adjustment I had and moved the wing all the way back, and it paid off.”

Taking the green flag fourth, Heimbach maintained the position until lap 16 when Tim Shaffer slowed while running second. Taking over second one lap later as Scott Bogucki shredded a left rear tire, the restart pitted Blane against Steve Buckwalter with eight laps to run.

Diving the hub of the half-mile in turn one, the No. 12 slid Buckwalter, who answered the pass down the back straightaway. Setting up the same move again the following lap, Heimbach roared past the No. 38 through the first and second turns.

Trying to turn and run, the momentum wasn’t there for Buckwalter, who watched Heimbach race to a 1.870-second lead at the checkered flag.

Buckwalter in second was joined on the podium by Derek Locke, who wrestled away third on lap 23 from Matt Covington, who ended up fourth with Blake Hahn completing the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 12-Blane Heimbach[4]; 2. 38-Steve Buckwalter[2]; 3. 77-Derek Locke[8]; 4. 95-Matt Covington[5]; 5. 52-Blake Hahn[6]; 6. 47X-Dylan Westbrook[10]; 7. 8-Devon Borden[14]; 8. 35-Jason Shultz[15]; 9. 28F-Davie Franek[12]; 10. 23X-Pat Cannon[9]; 11. 23-Seth Bergman[13]; 12. M1-Mark Smith[18]; 13. 63-JJ Hickle[21]; 14. 10C-Paulie Colagiovanni[17]; 15. 19-Colby Thornhill[7]; 16. 28-Scott Bogucki[3]; 17. 17B-Ryan Bickett[20]; 18. 88-Travis Reber[16]; 19. 669-Brandon McGough[22]; 20. 72-Tim Shaffer[1]; 21. 11-Ryan Stillwaggon[11]; 22. 47-Adam Carberry[19]; 23. 77X-Alex Hill[23]

error: Content is protected !!