Img 0210
Danny Dietrich was victorious in Tuesday's 75th Anniversary Race at Selinsgrove (Pa.) Speedway. (Dan Demarco Photo)

Dietrich Rules On Selinsgrove 75th Anniversary

SELINSGROVE, Pa. —  On the anniversary date of Selinsgrove Speedway’s opening in 1946, a huge crowd and stellar field of 410 sprint car and super late model drivers were on hand for Tuesday night’s historic 75th Anniversary Race. 

Danny Dietrich dominated the evening in the 410 sprint cars by winning his heat race and leading flag-to-flag in the 25-lap main event for the $5,075 victory. The win was the fifth of Dietrich’s career at the track at the wheel of the Kauffman Racing/Weikert’s Livestock No. 48. 

Thirteen-time track champion Jeff Rine made the winning pass on lap 23 of the 25-lap super late model feature for his 113th career victory also worth $5,075 in the Jeff’s Auto Body No. 2J.  It was Rine’s first win of the season at Selinsgrove, and he became the division’s fifth different winner in as many races. 
Dietrich drew the pole position for the start of the sprint car feature and beat outside front row starter TJ Stutts into the first turn for the early lead. On several occasions early in the race Stutts challenged Dietrich for the front spot to no avail. 

On lap 11, Heimbach passed Stutts for second in turn one and set his sights on Dietrich. At the halfway point, Dietrich led Heimbach, Stutts, third-place starter Steve Buckwalter, and eighth-place starter Freddie Rahmer. 

For several laps Heimbach closed on Dietrich but ultimately fell 3.12 seconds short at the finish. Dietrich took the win over Heimbach, Rahmer, Stutts, and Buckwalter. 
In the super late model feature, polesitter Jim Bernheisel edged out front row starter Gene Knaub for the lead entering turn one. With Bernheisel setting the pace, Knaub and third-place starter Dan Stone dueled for the runner-up position. 

The race’s first caution flag unfurled on lap six for Jason Schmidt’s disabled race car in turn four. When the green flag waved again, Stone got by Knaub for second. A lap later, a fierce battle unfolded for the third position between Knaub, fifth-place starter Rine, and seventh-place starter Dylan Yoder.

At the halfway point, Rine was tormenting Knaub for the second spot while Bernheisel led the way. Rine took over the runner-up position on lap 18 as eighth-place starter Rick Eckert entered the top five. 

In the final laps, Rine reeled in Bernheisel and made the winning pass on lap 23 using the highline through turns three and four. Rine took the checkered flag by one second over Bernheisel, Knaub, Eckert, and D. Yoder. 

The finish:

Feature (25 laps):  1) 48 Danny Dietrich  2) 12 Blane Heimbach  3) 51 Freddie Rahmer  4) 11 TJ Stutts  5) 17B Steve Buckwalter  6) 23 Pat Cannon  7) 39M Anthony Macri  8) 5 Dylan Cisney  9) 39 Chase Dietz  10) 27 Devon Borden  11) 35 Jason Shultz  12) 20 Mark Smith  13) 99M Kyle Moody  14) 1W Aaron Bollinger  15) 49H Bradley Howard  16) 33W Mike Walter  17) 24 Dustin Baney  18) 24 17W Jason Wagner  19) 19W Colby Womer  20) 22 Tanner Brown  21) 44 Dylan Norris  22) 21 Matt Campbell

error: Content is protected !!