A.J. Flick notched his first victory of the season on Sunday at Tri-City Raceway Park.
A.J. Flick notched his first victory of the season on Sunday at Tri-City Raceway Park.

Flick Rolls From Seventh At Tri-City Raceway Park

FRANKLIN, Pa. – Starting from the seventh position, A.J. Flick came through the field to win Sunday’s Shawgo Real Estate Sprint Car feature at Tri-City Raceway Park.

Veteran Gary Kreiss Jr. started the on the pole for the 25-lap Shawgo Real Estate Sprint Car feature. Kriess swapped the lead with Dan Kuriger on the first lap. Kriess maintained the lead with Kuriger in striking distance during the early stages of the race. Flick, a three-time Lernerville Speedway champion climbed into third early after starting seventh.

With slower traffic a factor for the entire race, Flick grabbed second position as Kriess was extending his margin. After a mid-race restart, Kriess again accelerated to a lead of several car lengths over Flick.

When traffic was again present, Flick made a thrilling move, positioning himself three-wide with Kriess and a slower car in turn three. Using the slower car as a pick in turn four, Flick stole the lead while Kriess made contact with the outside wall on the front straight, though he was able to continue.

Sye Lynch started the race in 10th, but surged forward late in the race, passing Kuriger for third and Kriess for second. During the final two laps Lynch was able to close the gap to leader Flick, but was unable to make the pass.

When the checkered flag waved Flick won for the first time in his career at Tri-City. It was also his first win of the season. Lynch placed a close second, with Carl Bowser claiming third. Kriess crossed the line in fourth after leading the most laps, while Brandon Spithaler finished fifth.

“It’s great to cross Tri-City off my bucket list,” Flick said.

The finish:

A.J. Flick, Sye Lynch, Carl Bowser, Gary Kreiss, Brandon Spithaler, Jeremy Kornbau, Jack Sodeman Jr., Dan Kuriger, Darrin Gallagher, Michael Bauer, Cody Bova, Dylan Proctor, George Hobaugh, Brent Matus, Bob McMillin, George Englert, Ivan Johnson, Alan Free, Leyton Wagner, Davey Jones, Brandon Matus, Jeremy Hill.

error: Content is protected !!