Frank Flud was one of three winners Friday night at Port City Raceway. (Richard Bales photo)

Flud, Timms & McCreary Star At Port City

TULSA, Okla. – Frank Flud, Ryan Timms and Caden McCreary captured Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division triumphs on Friday during the opening round of the 21st annual Pete Frazier Memorial at Port City Raceway.

The event, presented by Western Flyer Xpress, concludes on Saturday with racing beginning at 8 p.m.

Friday night’s opener featured a stout car count of 65 Stock Non-Wing, 38 Winged ‘A’ Class and 33 Restricted ‘A’ Class entrants, and the racing was just as impressive at the high-banked oval.

Flud capped the action by earning his ninth Stock Non-Wing triumph of the season with the series. Jeffrey Newell secured the runner-up result with a late pass on Kris Carroll.

Timms placed fourth and Curtis Jones charged from 16th to fifth.

Nigel Calvert, Greg Emeterio Jr., Newell, points leader Bradley Fezard, Austin Lambert, Jayson Campbell, Timms and Johnny Boland each won a heat race. Shane Marquez, Jones and Laydon Pearson were the B-main winners.

Timms hustled from the eighth starting position to garner his third series victory in Winged ‘A’ Class competition. Flud finished second with Bryan Wiedeman, 15th-starting Carroll and Garth Kasiner rounding out the top five, respectively.

Heat races were won by Timothy Watson III, Colby Sokol, Shawn Mahaffey, Noah Key, Flud and Timms. Carroll and Pearson split the two B-mains.

McCreary reached the Restricted ‘A’ Class Victory Lane for the first time with the NOW600 Series. Jaxton Wiggs placed second with Garrett Benson third, Megan Thomas fourth and Kayden Cole fifth.

McCreary, Benson, Talin Turner and Tyler Kuykendall were victorious during the heat races. Jack Thomas and Ethan Ayars each claimed a B-main win.

error: Content is protected !!