Golobic Claims King
Shane Golobic in action at Stockton Dirt Track Saturday night. (Devin Mayo photo)

Golobic Claims King Of The West Finale

STOCKTON, Calif. — Shane Golobic won the Fujitsu NARC-King of the West season finale at Stockton Dirt Track Saturday night, while D.J. Netto was crowed the overall champion.

Golobic drove his familiar Matt Wood Racing/NOS Energy Drink No. 17w to victory from the pole position, leading all 30 laps around the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds oval.

In a race which saw a minimal amount of caution periods, Golobic faced few threats for the top spot. He scored his first win of the season and became the 10th different driver to score a King of the West win this year, holding off Willie Allen and Netto.

Netto went into the season finale needing to finish ahead of contenders Bud Kaeding and Dominic Scelzi in order to pick up his first ever KWS championship. His Netto Ag sponsored No. 88n ran as high as second after starting from the third position.

In the race within a race, Croft got around Netto but he was still well ahead of Scelzi who was running sixth and Kaeding who was seventh. Netto was briefly challenged by Mitchell Faccinto, but the youth held his ground.

Neither Croft nor Netto were anywhere close to Golobic when he took the checkered flag.

The race’s first yellow flag came out on lap 12 when Rico Abreu slowed on the track in turns three and four. There was another quick yellow on the restart when Sean Watts spun around in turn four.

Watts would go to the work area, where his car was repaired and he returned.

The race’s final caution came out on lap 17 when Mark Barroso jumped the first turn cushion and spun off the banking.

The remainder of the race was all green flag laps, with Golobic’s only challenge being getting through slower traffic.

The finish:

Shane Golobic, Willie Croft, D.J. Netto, Mitchell Faccinto, Dominic Scelzi, Carson Macedo, Chase Johnson, Rico Abreu, Bud Kaeding, Geoff Ensign, Jason Statler, Sean Watts, Craig Stidham, Nathan Rolfe, Mark Barroso, Pat Harvey, Andy Gregg, Kenny Allen

error: Content is protected !!