2015 Featured Image.png

Griffith Ends Attica Sprint Car Drought

ATTICA, Ohio — It‘s been a while since Cale Griffith visited victory lane at Attica Raceway Park. That streak ended Friday as the Sandusky, Ohio, driver, who was the 410 sprint car champion at the track in 2014, led all 30 non-stop laps Friday for the Eric Phillips 34th Anniversary Classic.

The win wasn‘t easy as Griffith had to deal with lapped traffic with Cole Macedo glued to his rear bumper. It was Griffith‘s fourth career win in the Callie‘s Performance Products 410 sprint division and was worth $4,000.

Macedo‘s second-place finish solidifies his position atop the All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads/Kistler Racing Products Attica Fremont Championship Series presented by the Baumann Auto Group.

“It‘s been awhile. I was kind of watching the board there and in the middle of the race the cushion got kind of gnarly down here (in turns three and four) so I just got away from it,” Griffith said. “I didn‘t want to run against it because …last week I got a big bite of cushion on the last lap and did a tail dragger getting into turn one. I didn‘t want to be in a bad position. This is big for those guys (crew)…all the work they‘ve done.”

Byron Reed finished third, with D.J. Foos and Travis Philo rounding out the top five.

Ryan Missler, a five-time Attica late model champion, held off Rusty Schlenk in a heated battle then survived a caution with just three laps to go to claim the Dirt Nerds Podcast/Propane.com UMP Late Model victory. It was Missler‘s 17th career late model win at Attica, placing him fourth on the track‘s all-time win list for the division.

Matt Foos took the lead on lap seven and held off Jamie Miller on a one lap shoot-out to score the Fremont Fence 305 Sprint A-main win. It was Foos‘ fifth career win in the division.

The finish:

Feature  (30 Laps): 1. 33W-Caleb Griffith[2] ; 2. 18-Cole Macedo[4] ; 3. 5-Byron Reed[1] ; 4. 16-DJ Foos[7] ; 5. 5T-Travis Philo[9] ; 6. 3J-Trey Jacobs[12] ; 7. 09-Craig Mintz[3] ; 8. 19P-Paige Polyak[5] ; 9. 49I-John Ivy[6] ; 10. 35-Stuart Brubaker[8] ; 11. 68G-Tyler Gunn[10] ; 12. 12-Kyle Capodice[11] ; 13. 12G-Corbin Gurley[14] ; 14. 8M-TJ Michael[16] ; 15. 2+-Brian Smith[20] ; 16. 8-Zach Ames[13] ; 17. 7N-Darin Naida[17] ; 18. 23-Chris Andrews[15] ; 19. 22B-Ryan Broughton[18] ; 20. 00-Jamie Miller[19]

error: Content is protected !!