Lernerville Speedway Logo

It’s Jason Shultz In 1,000th Lernerville Sprint

SARVER, Pa. – The 1,000th sprint car checkered flag in Lernerville Speedway history waved for Jason Shultz as he held off a hard charging A.J. Flick en route to Terry Bowser Excavating Victory Lane on Friday night to claim the honors in the Lernerville Grand main event for the Peoples Natural Gas Sprint Cars.

Shultz started on the pole of the 25-lap feature, which was broadcast by SPEED SPORT TV affiliate Lernerville TV, and never looked back, picking up the historic trophy and $1,100 in bonuses on top of the normal winner’s share.

Carl Bowser was third ahead of Sye Lynch and Dan Kuriger.

Meanwhile, Michael Norris started up front in the Precise Racing Products Late Model feature and was overtaken by a determined Alex Ferree, who came from the tail of the field to wrest the lead away. Following a series of cautions and restarts, Norris found his way back around to cross under the checkers first.

In the Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modified main event, Garrett Krummert seemed to have the field under a firm command for the majority of the laps until a series of restarts past the halfway point gave eight time track champion Brian Swartzlander just enough clues on how best to beat Krummert to the back stretch as he pegged a late opportunity with the field bunched up and took advantage of it en route to his 98th career win at Lernerville.

Cory McPherson was a man possessed in Millerstown Pic-A-Part Penn-Ohio Pro Stock action. The six time track champion started fifth and then made his way around a very strong running Jason Fosnaught at the lap six mark and managed to keep him in rear view, clinching the feature victory by a .74 second margin.

error: Content is protected !!