Lynton Jeffrey starts on the pole for the 32nd annual 360 Knoxville Nationals. (Ken Berry photo)

Jeffrey To Lead 360 Nationals Field

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Knoxville Raceway veteran Lynton Jeffrey will lead the field for Saturday night‘s 32nd annual 360 Knoxville Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank at Knoxville Raceway.

Jeffrey accumulated 490 out of 500 possible points during Friday‘s preliminary program to have the high point total over two nights of qualifying action.

Jeffry qualified fourth and finished third in Friday‘s 20-lap feature.

“It‘s good news (being the high point driver),” said Jeffrey. “I can‘t believe it. I didn‘t even have a motor this morning. I didn‘t know, but Jody Hegwood loaned us one (driven by Devin Kline). They were kind enough to take it out of his car and put it in mine for the night.  It‘s a really good motor. I‘m pretty excited. Sitting on the pole of the 360 Nationals is definitely a feather in the cap. We‘ll just try and get it finished off.”

Jeffrey shares the front row with fellow Knoxville Raceway regular Aaron Ruetzel, who was high point man on Thursday with 487 points.

The next three starting spots are occupied by drivers who have won the 360 Nationals, with Clint Garner starting third, Terry McCarl fourth and Brian Brown fifth.

Ayrton Gennetten starts sixth, with Thursday night feature winner Sam Hafertepe Jr., defending 360 Nationals winner Gio Scelzi, Christopher Thram and Wayne Johnson rounding out the top 10.

Reigning NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals champion Kyle Larson will start 16th for the 30-lap event that pays $15,000 to win, plus $500 to lead every lap.

Tonight‘s start time has been pushed back to 7:45 CT because of a heat advisory.

Unnamed 1

error: Content is protected !!