Johnny Kent in victory lane at Red Dirt Raceway. (Richard Bales photo)

Kent Strikes Late For Meeker OCRS Victory

MEEKER, Okla. – Johnny Kent gave up the early lead then regained it just in time to win the AmeriFlex/OCRS IMCA Sprint Car Series season opener during night one of the Red Dirt Raceway Spring Nationals on Saturday.

For the first time the AmeriFlex/OCRS tour raced under the sanction of IMCA and a total of 42 competitors turned out for the inaugural outing.

That did not slow down Kent who picked up his third career OCRS victory, but it almost did not happen.

Starting outside front row next to Dillon Laden, Kent jumped into the lead on the first lap around the Red Dirt quarter-mile before the yellow flag waved.

On the restart, fourth-starting Casey Wills roared past Kent for the lead. Kent kept pace with Wills throughout the 25-lapper hoping for a second chance.

Opportunity presented itself in the final two laps and Kent went around Wills for the victory.

Tyler Drueke of Eagle, Neb., and making his first start with OCRS, charged from eighth to finish third, Ty Williams was fourth, and veteran Danny Wood came from 14th to fifth.

Defending AmeriFlex/OCRS champion Zach Chappell was sixth over Zach Martin of Quinter, Kan., Jase Randolph, who ran third early in the race, fell back to eighth.

Andrew Deal finished ninth and Chris Kelly was the hard charger after coming from 20th to finish 10th.

The finish:

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 55-Johnny Kent [2]; 2. 31-Casey Wills [4]; 3. 12-Tyler Drueke [8]; 4. 911-Ty Williams [6]; 5. 55W-Danny Wood [14]; 6. 50Z-Zach Chappell [9]; 7. 2J-Zach Martin [13]; 8. 15-Jase Randolph [5]; 9. 15D-Andrew Deal [18]; 10. 32K-Chris Kelly [20]; 11. 5$-Danny Smith [12]; 12. 88-Terry Easum [11]; 13. 9$-Kyle Clark [19]; 14. 2C-Whit Gastineau [3]; 15. 6-Alison Slaton [17]; 16. 18-Dillon Laden [1]; 17. 78-Tanner Conn [10]; 18. 27-Andy Shouse [16]; 19. 29S-Blake Scott [7]; 20. 5-Jesse Graham [15].

Time of race: 18:15.655

error: Content is protected !!