Gerster Is Fast
Brian Gerster. (Jacob Seelman photo)

Little 500 HoF Welcoming Gerster, Smith & Tyler

ANDERSON, Ind. – Two former Little 500 drivers and a current Little 500 driver are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 29 as part of the festivities surrounding the 73rd annual Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW.

The Class of 2021 will be formally inducted at a luncheon at Anderson Speedway the afternoon of the Little 500.

The Class of 2021 includes Brian Gerster, Danny Smith, and Bill Tyler.

Gerster, of Fishers, Ind., has made 12 starts in the Little 500 with one top-five finish and five top-10 finishes. He’s completed 4,080 laps during his Little 500 starts.

Smith, of Chillicothe, Ohio, made six starts in the Little 500 from 1975 to 2014. He was the co-winner of the race in 1979 alongside Wayne Reutimann and finished third in 1975. He led two Little 500 races for a total of 28 laps and was the Rookie of the Year in 1975.

Smith also holds the record for most years between starts (1979 to 2014).

Tyler, of Jackson, Mich., made eight Little 500 starts from 1986 to 2001. He earn four top-five finishes, including a runner-up finish in the 1989 running of the race.

He led three different Little 500s for 205 laps and completed 3,471 laps during the Little 500 during his career.

The 32nd annual Little 500 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place at Anderson Speedway on Saturday afternoon May 29. Seating is limited at this year’s luncheon, so advance tickets will be the only way to guarantee a seat.

Attendees are asked to order tickets as soon as possible.

Tickets are $15 each and can be purchased by sending a check or money order to:

Little 500 Hall of Fame, 5027 Pearl St., Anderson, IN 46013.

Tickets can also be purchased at the Anderson Speedway Box office. For more information, call (765) 642-0206 or (765) 278-8231.

error: Content is protected !!