The Must See Racing Midwest Lights Series will begin its season Saturday at Lorain Raceway Park. (David Sink photo)

Must See Lights Opener Set For Lorain

HOLLY, Mich. – The Maxima Racing Oil Must See Racing Lights Series is less than a week away from kicking off its new season.

The action begins for the second-year series on April 17 at Lorain Raceway Park in South Amherst, Ohio.

Reigning series champion J.J. Henes will attempt to defend his throne. The Lagrange, Ohio teenager won the 2020 championship on the final night of the season.

A tight point battle with Dylan Watson went right down to the wire. Henes won by a mere two points to claim the 2020 championship, collecting one feature victory in the process.

The series, powered by 602 GM sealed crate motors, was created to give younger drivers seat time in a winged asphalt sprint car and give the MSR 410 series a feeder system of strong young talent.

The series has done just that, as a handful of drivers from this series will make their 410 debuts in 2021.

This year’s roster of drivers will be a mixture of youth and veterans. Former supermodified veteran and current MSR 410 competitor Charlie Shultz is expected to compete in 2021 as well as Jacob Dolinar, who also competes in the 410 series.

Other drivers expected to compete include Joshua Sexton, James Rader, Joey Wyckoff, Dylan Watson, Justin Stanley, John Reiser, Tim Henthorne, Jason Rader and 17-year-old lady racer Lauren DePasquale.

It is only fitting that the season opener will be hosted by Lorain Raceway Park, as many drivers in the series call LRP home. LRP will also host the series in June, August and for the series championship in October.

Henes and Wyckoff each found victory lane at LRP in 2020 Maxima Racing Oil Must See Racing Midwest Lights Series competition.

error: Content is protected !!