Poirier Cops Second
Jordan Poirier in victory lane at Merrittville Speedway. (Nitroman Media photo)

Poirier Cops Second Merrittville Sprint Car Win

THOROLD, Ontario – Jordan Poirier picked up the win in the 360 sprint car feature at Merrittville Speedway on Friday night, his second victory of the season.

Poirier led a list of three different winners during a busy program at the Canadian track.

Allan Downey, who got his start in the sport through iRacing, picked up his first career win with the Action Sprint Tour in his sophomore season, while multi-time track champion Dave Bailey won the main event for the Hoosier Stocks after starting 12th.

Holly Porter and Jordan Poirier brought the field of 360 sprint cars to the green flag for their 25-lap A-main, with Poirier taking the lead as Mitch Brown moved into second after passing Porter on lap two.

Chris Jones landed on his side on the backstretch to bring out the red flag on lap three. Jones climbed out on his own power.

Poirier took off on the restart with Mitch Brown, Ryan Turner, Holly Porter, and Liam Martin raced in the top five. Shone Evans went around in turn two to bring out the caution on lap eight.

Poirier once again rocketed away on the restart as Liam Martin battled hard with Cory Turner for the fourth position. Josh Hansen, Jake Brown, and Jamie Turner all got together in turn two on lap 10 to bring out the caution.

Ryan Turner was able to take over second on the restart and went after Poirier. Liam Martin then raced his way back to the podium as Poirier continued to lead over Ryan Turner.

Mitch Brown was able to regain the third spot just one lap later. Poirier would hit lap traffic, allowing Ryan Turner to close in. Turner took the lead for a brief moment, but Poirier regained the lead just one corner later. From there, Poirier went on to score the win.

The Action Sprint Tour saw Dereck Lemyre and Jacob Dykstra lead the field of 23 entries to the green flag for their 20-lap A-main, and the yellow flag immediately waved as qualifying heat winner Brian Nanticoke ran into the back of Nick Sheridan and went around, with Lucas Smith getting collected.

Dykstra took the lead away from Lemyre on the restart, but suffered a broken front axle as he made hard contact with the turn four berm. Dykstra climbed out of the car under his own power.

Lemyre re-inherited the lead on the restart over Darren Dryden and Rob Neely, with Nick Sheridan running in fourth and taking over third on lap three. The red flag came out as Lance Erskine flipped in turn two. Erskine was alright and climbed out of his car.

Nick Sheridan challenged Dryden for second as Lemyre continued to show the way. Lemyre hit lap traffic just before the halfway point. The caution waved once again as Trevor Young and Tyler Ward came together on the entry of turn one.

Lemyre went to the top side of the speedway on the restart, giving the lead to Darren Dryden with Allan Downey moving into second place. Downey took over the lead with four laps remaining.

The yellow lights came on with only one lap remaining as Tyler Ward stopped on the top side of turn one. Dryden looked underneath Downey on the last lap, but Downey used the outside to get the lead back and get his first career win.

Mike Thorne and Kyle Wert brought the Hoosier Stocks to the green flag for their 20-lap feature event with Wert showing the way early. Thorne regained the lead as Christopher Hale challenged Wert for second place.

The yellow lights turned on as Rob Murray and Logan Shwedyk got tangled together on the front straightaway. Thorne and Hale took off on the restart as Dave Bailey moved into third place and went after Hale for the second position on lap eight.

The lead trio pulled away from Wert and Ryan Beagle, who raced in the top five at the halfway point. Bailey took over second on lap 11 and challenged Thorne for the lead.

Ken Sargent, who started 21st on the grid, worked his way into the top five on lap 14 and battled with Ryan Beagle. The top five all challenged for the lead and Bailey took the lead away coming to the white flag.

Bailey drove on to the win over Thorne, Hale, Sargent, and Kyle Wert.

error: Content is protected !!