Dsc 0462.jpg
Ryan Robinson (Joe Shivak photo)

Robinson Romps To SCCT Score

PETALUMA, Calif. — Ryan Robinson won the 35 lap Sprint Car Challenge Tour Series feature at Petaluma Speedway on Saturday night.

Robinson, the series point leader, took the lead from Colby Copeland on lap 25 while the pair were working lapped traffic coming out of the second turn.

The winning pass sent Copeland wide into the loose cushion but he was able to gather his car and only gave up the lead to finish second.  Andy Forsberg, who was crowned the speedway‘s 360 sprint car champion, came home third.  Sean Becker and Blake Carrick rounded out the top five.

The penultimate SCCT points race started off with Robinson and Copeland on the front row. Copeland would lead the two rivals into the first turn in the Bianchi Farms sponsored Vanlare Motorsports No.5v.  The race would only go two laps before Dawson Hammes would bring the red flag out when he bicycled in the first turn sending his No. 55d over the short retaining wall and thru the plywood fence.

Once restarted the laps would quickly click off as the top three runners remained equally distanced on the Rick Faeth-prepared track. It wasn‘t until lap 25 when the leader came upon the slower car of Bret Barney did Robinson seize his opportunity to take the lead.

On the next circuit after battling for most of the race Becker got around Joel Myers Jr. for the fourth spot.  Myers would lose yet another spot before the checkered and settled for sixth after starting fourth.

Points contender Justyn Cox would finish seventh while Bradley Terrell who had just jumped out of his feature winning wingless spec sprint, would come home eighth.

The finish:

Ryan Robinson, Colby Copeland, Andy Forsberg, Sean Becker, Blake Carrick, Joel Myers Jr., Justyn Cox, Bradley Terrell, Bret Barney, John Clark, Jake Haulot, Kaleb Montgomery, Daniel Whitley, Isaiah Vasquez, Dawson Hammes

error: Content is protected !!