Zach Blurton in victory lane at Dodge City Raceway Park.

Soderberg Memorial Belongs To Zach Blurton

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Zach Blurton added a fourth Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship win to his resume by topping Saturday night’s season-ending DCRP vs. URSS Sprint Car feature event atop the three-eighths-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

While Blurton scored his third consecutive win in the eighth rendition of the Soderberg Memorial, Dakota Sproul and Tathan Burkhart put exclamation points on championship seasons with wins in the IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Hobby Stocks, respectively.

Brian May bested the IMCA Sport Modifieds and Troy Burkhart won in IMCA Stock Cars.

In the 25-lap Hambelton Racing DCRP vs. United Rebel Sprint Series feature, fourth-starter Zach Blurton slid past Kyler Johnson on a lap three restart and led the rest of the way for his second DCRP win of the year and third consecutive win in the season-ender.

After an early red flag, Blurton weathered one more red flag seven laps shy of the checkered flag when Connor Atkinson flipped in turn two.

Blurton took off again on the restart and posted the win ahead of Johnson with Jeff Stasa, J.D. Johnson and Luke Cranston rounding out the top five while eighth-place finisher Taylor Velasquez secured his third track championship.

The finish:

1. 11-Zach Blurton, 2. 45x-Kyler Johnson, 3. 91-Jeff Stasa, 4. 98-J.D. Johnson, 5. 49x-Luke Cranston, 6. 33-Koby Walters, 7. 10-Jordan Knight, 8. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 9. 911-Ty Williams, 10. 50-Jed Werner, 11. 72-Ray Seemann, 12. 11k-Tyler Knight, 13. 9d-Lance Davis, 14. 49-Kris Moore, 15. 74v-Howard Van Dyke, 16. 17x-Jake Martens, 17. 97-Brian Herbert, 18. 74-Connor Atkinson, 19. 51r-Ross Essenberg, 20. 65-Kohl Ricke, 21. 14-Brady Skrdlant.

error: Content is protected !!