Gary Taylor in victory lane Saturday at Waynesfield Raceway Park. (Mike Campbell Photo)
Gary Taylor in victory lane Saturday at Waynesfield Raceway Park. (Mike Campbell Photo)

Waynesfield FAST Feature Belongs To Gary Taylor

WAYNESFIELD, Ohio – Gary Taylor took full advantage of his front row starting spot to lead every lap of Saturday’s FAST Series sprint car event at Waynesfield Raceway Park.

Max Stambaugh would tow the field of winged warriors to the green flag start from the pole position as he and Taylor blistered into turn one and down the backstretch side-by-side.

Taylor would make his exit coming off turn four as Cale Conley would follow along into second spot, dropping Stambaugh to third. Taylor would set a frantic pace as he would continue to stretch his lead and the cars began to move up the track right on the wall in turns three and four.

There were three caution flags for cars stopped on track and Taylor was flawless on each restart, using clean air and open track to pull away. Conley would pace in second, but could only watch each time as Taylor pulled away.

Traffic offered little hope to the field as Taylor dispatched slower cars with ease. A late-race yellow would turn red when Brandon Wimmer and Friday night Attica winner Cole Macedo got bottled up in turn four and Macedo flipped. Macedo was uninjured.

Racing resumed and just like the other three restarts, Taylor took off and easily claimed the win over Conley, Travis Philo, D.J. Foos and Greg Wilson.

“I was able to get a really good start,” said Taylor after his $4,000 win. “Got some really good timely yellows and great restarts. I was able to get through the lapped traffic OK, but you just never know with traffic, but it went OK. On that red flag my crew chief Andy Potter just said I needed to keep running my line. I just needed to get my rhythm back on that restart and I was able to and go on to the win. The race track was beautiful. I like it slick and smooth. I just really enjoyed it.”

Jamie Miller won the companion 305 sprint car feature.

The finish:

1. 97-Gary Taylor[2] ; 2. 3C-Cale Conley[4] ; 3. 5T-Travis Philo[5] ; 4. 16-DJ Foos[8] ; 5. W20-Greg Wilson[3] ; 6. 5M-Max  Stambaugh [1] ; 7. 81-Lee Jacobs[12] ; 8. 22-Cole Duncan[13] ; 9. 29-Buddy Kofoid[7] ; 10. 00-Thomas Messeraull[9] ; 11. 28-Skylar Gee[17] ; 12. 9X-Ricky Peterson[16] ; 13. 21N-Frankie Nervo[14] ; 14. 27S-John Ivy[20] ; 15. A79-Brandon Wimmer[10] ; 16. 35-Stuart Brubaker[15] ; 17. 49-Shawn  Dancer [22] ; 18. 15-Mitch Harble[18] ; 19. 5H-Jordan Harble[21] ; 20. 14-Brian Smith[19] ; 21. 18-Cole  Macedo[11] ; 22. 23-Chris Andrews[6]

error: Content is protected !!