Zimbardi Breaks Through With Patriot Sprints

BROCKVILLE, Ontario – Jared Zimbardi took his first Patriot Sprint Tour win of the year during Saturday night’s 25-lap feature at Brockville-Ontario Speedway.

At the start of the main on the track’s Tackaberry Construction Night, it was Zimbardi racing out to the lead early on over Chris Jones, Jordan Poirier, Steve Poirier and Paulie Colagiovanni.

With a fast race track Zimbardi was able to pull away to a comfortable advantage in the opening 10 laps, while behind him Jordan and Steve Poirier made their way to second and third and were having a spirited battle for the runner up spot.

On lap 13, the first caution flew as Rick Wilson slowed in turn two. When the green returned, it was Zimbardi once again out in front by five car lengths, but Steve Poirier was trying at will to stay with the leader over his nephew Jordan Poirier.

With five laps to go, the top three were all nose to tail and working traffic perfectly, and it was a matter of who would be the first driver to make a mistake.

After a season that has been tough to start for his standards, Zimbardi ultimately held off all challengers to score his first Patriot Sprint Tour win of the year.

Steve Poirier would make it close but settled for second over nephew Jordan Poirier, Chris Jones and Paulie Colagiovanni.

The finish:

Jared Zimbardi, Steve Poirier, Jordan Poirier, Chris Jones, Paulie Colagiovanni, Mark Smith, Shawn Donath, Jordan Thomas, Davey Franek, Jason Barney, Pete Richardson, Joe Trenca, Kyle Fraser, Alain Bergeron, John Trenca, Rick Wilson, Paul Pekkonen, Scott Burk, Roger Levesque, Brian Zyck

error: Content is protected !!