Michael Kofoid (Michael Diers photo)

Kofoid Sweeps Up In Texas

WICHITA FALLS, Texas — During a thrilling 30-lap main event, Buddy Kofoid went from the lead to the work area and back to the lead Saturday to steal the victory and go back-to-back with the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League at Monarch Motor Speedway.

Kofoid was hot all night. He drew the pole for his heat race and never looked back.

To start the 30-lap main event Jake Neuman, Emerson Axsom and Kofoid battled three-wide for the lead, while teammate Daison Pursley got caught in the mix and found himself running in the top three.

Axsom, trying to get his first POWRi national victory, took off with the lead and fought tooth and nail with Kofoid while exchanging positions for laps. Kofoid perfected the top side in turn one and two and ran the middle line in three and four.

As the laps wound down, Kofoid caught himself in some heavy lapped traffic which caused the top three to bunch back up again.

After a red flag for Kaylee Bryson who got upside down, Pursley landed himself in the work area with a flat right rear. Purlsey rejoined the field, and they went back green.

Second-place Axsom dropped out with a flat and a few short laps later, so did Kofoid.

On lap 24, Kofoid rejoined the field, but with six laps to go the race was caught up with cautions for blown right rears.

With only two laps to go, Kofoid and Pursley found themselves running in the top three as Cannon McIntosh took off with the lead. McIntosh led the field until the last corner as Kofoid got around him and took himself back to victory lane for the second night in a row.

“This is pretty cool, and even better to sweep the weekend. I cannot do this without these Keith Kunz Motorsports guys. I’m having fun doing this, that was a little frustrating and long, but it worked out.”

The finish:

Buddy Kofoid, Cannon McIntosh, Daison Pursley, Bryant Wiedeman, Brent Crews, Ryan Timms, Jake Neuman, Cade Lewis, Emerson Axsom, Brenham Crouch, Scott Evans, Emilio Hoover, Jade Avedisian, Rees Moran, Kyle Jones, Tyler Thomas, Pierce Urbanosky, Trey Gropp, Cade Cowles, Dylan Postier, Kaylee Bryson, Taylor Reimer, Karter Sarff.



error: Content is protected !!