Img 0350.jpg
Gavan Boschele (Richard Bales photo)

Patience Pays Off For Gavan Boschele

TULSA, Okla. — Packing the pits of Port City Raceway with an astounding eighty-two entries, the Lucas Oil POWRi 600cc Outlaw Non-Wing Micro portion of the Keith Kunz Motorsports Giveback Classic utilized a split field during Eibach Preliminary Night competition.

Gavan Boschele found the fastest line during the 30-lap feature and claimed the victory.

Front-row starters Frank Flud and Cannon McIntosh battled intensely on the first lap with McIntosh grabbing the early battling advantage to hold the early racing lead.

With McIntosh pacing the field in outstanding open-wheel action, Flud mounted a charge to the front and overtake for the lead after a hard-fought battle as Boschele also began to approach the frontrunners with speed.

Flud appeared to be the driver to beat as he set sail out front and seemingly lapping traffic at will with Boschele, McIntosh, and Gavin Miller in hot pursuit. With the laps ticking away, Flud encountered a lap-competitor running a similar line at a similar speed allowing Boschele to overcome Flud‘s commanding lead.

Leading on the 24th lap, Flud would attempt to slide by the tricky lap-car on the inside-line, clipping the front end and sending Flud flipping.

Benefiting from running second and gaining the race lead after red-flag conditions were lifted, Boschele would not be denied on the final six circuits as he held off all challenges to earn the feature win.

“I had to stay patient before going into attack mode, Kevin and the team gave me a wicked fast car tonight and I knew I had work to do,” said Boschele. “It feels good to be locked into Saturday, this adds a bunch of confidence. I know the track better now so we should be one to watch.”

Racing his way to a runner-up position from starting fifth, Gavin Miller quickly made a name for himself with a solid showing as McIntosh rounded out the podium.

Jeffrey Newell finished fourth and earned the final automatic qualifying position for Saturday‘s third annual KKM Giveback Classic.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. 5-Gavan Boschele(6), 2. 71M-Gavin Miller(5), 3. 13-Cannon McIntosh(2), 4. 12-Jeffrey Newell(4), 5. 1J-Cameron Paul(17), 6. 17S-Baron Silva(8), 7. 22-Daniel Robinson(16), 8. 1V-Johnny Boland(7), 9. 37-Aiden Purdue(23), 10. 51B-Joe B Miller(9), 11. 1H-Connor Lee(14), 12. 32-Trey Marcham(20), 13. 67-Randy Wagnon JR(24), 14. 93-Matt Carr(11), 15. 14R-Jake Nail(3), 16. 88R-Ryder LaPlante(12), 17. 8K-Tyler Kuykendall(13), 18. 81-Frank Flud(1), 19. 28-Chelby Hinton(10), 20. 26-Kale Drake(21), 21. 3K-Kris Carroll(19), 22. 22C-Curtis Jones(22), 23. 12T-Trey Robb(18), 24. 71W-Bryant Wiedeman(15).

error: Content is protected !!