Zeb Wise (Jim DenHamer photo)
Zeb Wise (Jim DenHamer photo)

Fairbury POWRi Field Chases Zeb Wise

FAIRBURY, Ill. — Adding his second POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League victory on Thursday night, Zeb Wise wheeled the Clauson-Marshall Racing Driven2SaveLives, Spike/SR-11 No. 39bc to the win at Fairbury American Legion Speedway.

Starting second, Wise took the green flag alongside PAC Racing Springs High Point Man Thomas Meseraull. Sliding across turns one and two in front of Wise, Meseraull made an immediate bid for control of the lead, but Wise was too quick with the crossover as he snuck down and drove back by the No. 7x to lead the opening circuit.

Heading straight for the cushion, Wise rocketed away in the early stages as his Clauson-Marshall teammate, Tyler Courtney, made his way into the second spot with a pass on Meseraull.

While Courtney set his sights on Wise out front, Logan Seavey was the hard charger storming through the field aboard his Keith Kunz-Curb Agajanian Motorsports, Mobil 1, Bullet/Toyota No. 67.

Catching Wise with six laps left, Courtney was within striking distance and set himself up to attack his teammate for command of the top spot. Tossing a slider as they came to the five to go signal, Courtney cleared Wise, but was quickly relegated back to second as the caution flag waved for Thomas Meseraull.

Restarting with six to go, Wise led the field back to green fully aware of Courtney’s presence behind him. Another caution on the 27th circuit for Maria Cofer lined the field up for one final restart as Wise led Courtney and a rocket-fast Seavey.

Expecting a challenge for the lead, Wise received nothing in the final three laps as Courtney’s hands were too full with an exchange of sliders from Seavey. While those two fought head to head, Wise snuck away and drove the No. 39bc to victory, marking his second POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League win.

Seavey chased Wise to the line, capping an impressive 14th-to-second charge aboard his No. 67. Courtney rounded out the podium in third with Tanner Thorson and Zach Daum closing out the top five.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 39BC-Zeb Wise (2); 2. 67-Logan Seavey (14); 3. 17BC-Tyler Courtney (3); 4. 98-Tanner Thorson (12); 5. 5D-Zach Daum (4); 6. 88-Robert Dalby (6); 7. 27-Tucker Klaasmeyer (17); 8. 71-Jesse Colwell (5); 9. 71K-Tanner Carrick (9); 10. 08-Cannon McIntosh (19); 11. 28-Ace McCarthy (22); 12. 21KS-C.J. Leary (13); 13. 9-Daison Pursley (20); 14. 67K-Holley Hollan (8); 15. 86C-David Camfield (21); 16. 47BC-Andrew Layser (10); 17. 97K-Jesse Love (15); 18. 21MC-Maria Cofer (16); 19. 7X-Thomas Meseraull (1); 20. 3N-Jake Neuman (18); 21. 3B-Shelby Bosie (11); 22. 91T-Tyler Thomas (7).


error: Content is protected !!