Daison Pursley (POWRi photo)

Pursley Breaks Through In POWRi Ranks

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. — Daison Pursley was unstoppable in winning his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League feature on Saturday night at I-44 Riverside Speedway.

The victory came in the 30-lap Charlene Meents Memorial.

Driving around his teammate Jessie Love on lap 22, Pursley fended off a few attacks from hard-charging Buddy Kofoid as he held on for an impressive first victory aboard the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports, Craftsman Tools, Bullet by Spike/Toyota powered No. 9

Noah Gass and Love brought the field to the green flag. Gass took off to the early lead as the field fought for positions behind him. A bobble by Gass caused Love to take over the lead on lap four. Pursley only four laps into the main event made his way to take over the fourth position.

Leader Love entered lapped traffic and Pursley closed in on him to fight for the lead. Pursley stepped out of line and tries the top side in turn three and four to make his move on Love. Pursley threw a slide job in one and two and made it stick, parsley presumed the lead on lap 22 and Love fell back to second.

Kofoid gave it everything he had to catch Pursley in lapped traffic but was not successful.

“This is pretty cool; I haven’t won in a long time, so this is pretty amazing,” Pursley said. “I can’t thank all these guys behind me enough, they gave me a great car tonight. Nonstop racing like that is pretty tough but this is what we come here for.”

Kofoid finished second

“The past few weeks have been a little rough for us, but I think we kind of found some of our speed back,” he said. “Daison did a really good job tonight.”

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. 9-Daison Pursley   2. 67-Buddy Kofoid   3. 97K-Jessie Love   4. 71K-Cannon McIntosh   5. 7U-Kyle Jones   6. 20G-Noah Gass   7. 49-Joe B Miller   8. 91T-Tyler Thomas   9. 85-Jerry Coons Jr.  10. 19A-Logan Seavey   11. 15-Emerson Axsom   12. 32T-Trey Marcham   13. 97-Brenham Crouch   14. 00-Ethan Mitchell   15. 3N-Jake Neuman   16. 71-Kaylee Bryson   17. 72-Sam Johnson   18. 26-Tristin Thomas   19. 67K-Bryant Wiedeman   20. 28-Ace McCarthy   21. 5T-Ryan Timms   22. 44S-Andrew Felker   23. 19AZ-Hayden Reinbold   24. 57D-Aiden Purdue 


error: Content is protected !!