Seavey Does It Again At Jacksonville

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — Continuing his historic hot streak on Friday night, Logan Seavey led all 25 laps of the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League makeup feature from April 28 to score a dominant victory at Jacksonville Speedway.

Driving the No. 67 Mobil 1 Bullet/Toyota for Keith Kunz Motorsports, Seavey won his third consecutive feature, making it six victories in nine starts this season and pushing his career total to 13 POWRi National Midget triumphs.

Continuing the program from a rained out portion of an April 28 appearance alongside the World of Outlaws, this rescheduled race saw its own struggles with Mother Nature.

Small afternoon showers delayed the start, but the makeup feature would run, although the evening’s Illinois Speed Week show would eventually be postponed.

Starting on the pole position, Seavey outgunned his KKM teammate Tucker Klaasmeyer into turn one and controlled the early lead.

Breaking away as the lead pack, all eyes were glued on Seavey, Klaasmeyer and third-runner Cannon McIntosh, as the trio snuck away on a heavy track.

A restart with seven laps in the books shuffled the back end of the podium as a slight bobble from McIntosh opened the door for Jesse Love, who seized his shot and rocketed into the third position.

From there, attention returned again to the front of the field as Klaasmeyer approached Seavey with his sights set on a sneaky move into lap traffic.

The reigning POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget champion, Klaasmeyer pulled the No. 27 Link Belt Excavators Bullet/Toyota close to Seavey’s machine on several occasions, but struggled to find an opening to make his move.

As the checkered flag waved on the makeup feature, it was Seavey scoring yet another dominant wire-to-wire victory. The 2017 POWRi National Midget champion and current Illinois Speed Week point leader, Seavey is on a historic run as the summer swing heats up.

Klaasmeyer followed Seavey to the stripe and snagged a strong second-place finish, while rounding out the podium in only his second-career start, 14-year old Jesse Love placed the No. 97k JBL Audio Bullet/Toyota in third-place with a stellar bid for Keith Kunz Motorsports.

Cannon McIntosh brought the No. 08 Drive WFX/Dave Mac Motorsports Spike/Toyota home in fourth place, while Zach Daum completed the top five with his Daum Motorsports No. 5d.

The finish:

Logan Seavey, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Jesse Love, Cannon McIntosh, Zach Daum, Holley Hollan, Jesse Colwell, Tanner Carrick, Daison Pursley, Joe B. Miller, Austin Brown, Clinton Boyles, Ace McCarthy, Korey Weyant, Andy Malpocker, Shelby Bosie, Jake Neuman, Daniel Robinson, Tanner Thorson, Andrew Layser, Zeb Wise, Kaylee Bryson, Daniel Adler.

error: Content is protected !!