Img 1245.jpg
Steven Snyder Jr. (Richard Bales photo)

Snyder Storms To Port City Score

TULSA, Okla. — Steven Snyder Jr secured the victory by using the low-line during the opening night of the fourth annual Keith Kunz Motorsports Giveback Classic presented by Max Papis Innovations at Port City Raceway.

It was the ninth POWRi Outlaw Non-Wing Micro League victory of the season for Snyder.

Flying into the 30-lap feature event would witness high-point qualifier and inside front-row starter Daison Pursley battle with the front-row companion Frank Flud in an all-Oklahoma front-row as Flud would lead the opening lap with Pursley running an inside line runner-up.

Bringing the field back together on a lap four caution would realign the field single-file with Flud leading Pursley, Jake Nail, Landon Ellis and Cannon McIntosh.

High-side hustling the top trio would separate from the field with Pursley sliding into the lead on lap 10, as Flud, Nail, McIntosh and Snyder began to encounter lapped traffic.

Cruising to a comfortable lead, Pursley saw the caution flag displayed with nine laps remaining as Snyder raced his way up into the runner-up position.

Flud and Nail battled with Kunsman, McIntosh, Axsom, Gunner Setser, Brenham Crouch and Colby Sokol inside the top 10.

Restarting with perfection saw Snyder snag the top spot using the low line in turns one and two with Pursley attempting to regain the lead as Flud, Nail and McIntosh raced inside the top five.

Holding steady up front on the low line, previous year’s winner Snyder while claiming his second career league win in an action-packed feature with one-time leader Pursley resulting in a runner-up finish.

“The lap cars really help me take the bottom and then I started to catch up to Daison and I knew either my car was coming in or his was going away. On the restart I knew I had to stay on my line, keep it under me and bide my time,” Snyder said.

Flud finished third, with McIntosh and Nail rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21S-Steven Snyder Jr[7]; 2. 71-Daison Pursley[1]; 3. 81-Frank Flud[2]; 4. 21X-Cannon McIntosh[8]; 5. 14R-Jake Nail[6]; 6. 47BC-Emerson Axsom[3]; 7. 87-Gunnar Setser[11]; 8. 26M-Gavin Miller[14]; 9. 24S-Colby Sokol[9]; 10. 68-Landon Ellis[4]; 11. 08-Peter Smith[16]; 12. 15P-Jase Randolph[13]; 13. 2B-Garrett Benson[20]; 14. 7C-Phillip Cordova[23]; 15. 21K-Thomas Kunsman Jr[5]; 16. 2A-Austin Wood[15]; 17. 26C-Chase McDermand[22]; 18. 10T-Jaxon Bishop[19]; 19. 12C-Chase Spicola[17]; 20. 8P-Caleb Pence[21]; 21. 2BX-Brenham Crouch[12]; 22. 22M-Sammy McNabb[18]; 23. 67-JJ Loss[10]; 24. 17S-Baron Silva[24].

error: Content is protected !!