Ryan Bernal (Joe Shivak photo)

Bernal Sprints To Hanford Glory

HANFORD, Calif. — For the 50th time in series history Saturday night, the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series took to Hanford’s Keller Auto Speedway, with Ryan Bernal claiming the victory.

Piloting the Matt Wood Racing No. 17w Elk Grove Ford entry, Bernal took advantage of a slower car to pass Kaleb Montgomery on lap seventeen and sailed to the 37th series win of his career. After earning the $1,500 victory, the new point leader was followed by Montgomery, Brody Roa, Jace Vander Weerd, and D.J. Johnson.

From the pole, Vander Weerd led the first eight laps until the third starting Montgomery took command. Looking for his second career win, Kaleb found the low groove to his liking until reaching traffic.

With Montgomery’s progress slowed, the sixth-starting Bernal carried extra momentum from the outside lane and powered to lead. Once out front, the night belonged to Ryan Bernal and the veteran driver took the checkered flags at the Kings County Fairgrounds.

Bernal began the night by posting his 18th career Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award with a time of 16.468 over the 18-car roster.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. Ryan Bernal (6), 2. Kaleb Montgomery (3), 3. Brody Roa (5), 4. Jace Vander Weerd (1), 5. D.J. Johnson (8), 6. Tanner Boul (12), 7. Brody Fuson (7), 8. Cody Fendley (4), 9. Danny Faria Jr. (2), 10. Jarrett Soares (10), 11. Logan Calderwood (15), 12. Nate Schank (14), 13. Jake Hodges (11), 14. Tuesday Calderwood (17), 15. Kyle Edwards (16), 16. Ryan Timmons (9), 17. Austin Liggett (13), 18. Trent Carter (18). NT.


error: Content is protected !!