Kokomo Rainout Gives Seavey Midget Week Title

KOKOMO, Ind. – Early morning rains at Kokomo Speedway and the continued threat of precipitation through the day forced USAC officials to cancel Sunday night’s scheduled finale to Indiana Midget Week.

The quarter-mile bullring was set to play host to the sixth and final night of the week-long sojourn, with a tussle between Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports and Clauson-Marshall Racing set to take center stage, but the two powerhouses will remain tied at two wins each for the week after the rainout.

USAC and Kokomo Speedway officials are looking into scheduling possibilities for the potential addition of a NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series race at the track later in the season.

As a result of the finale being rained out, defending USAC national midget champion Logan Seavey earned the Indiana Midget Week points title, with a win and four top-three finishes in five nights.

Seavey was victorious during the opening night of Indiana Midget Week at Montpelier Motor Speedway on Tuesday, but slipped to 12th on Wednesday at Gas City I-69 Speedway and had ground to make up.

He did just that for the rest of the week, however, earning back-to-back second place finishes at Lincoln Park Speedway and Bloomington Speedway that propelled him into the point lead when teammate and chief rival Tanner Thorson flipped early in Friday night’s feature at Bloomington.

Thorson’s last-place finish, combined with Seavey’s podium effort, gave the Sutter, Calif., native a lead he wouldn’t relinquish.

However, Seavey punctuated his title run with a third-place finish on Saturday night at Lawrenceburg Speedway, putting the points lead virtually out of reach after Tyler Courtney cut a tire late in the feature and fell out of contention at the three-eighths-mile oval.

That left Seavey to wear the crown with his No. 67 Mobil 1 Bullet/Toyota team, as he finished 36 points clear of Thorson in the final standings.

“Our car was consistently fast this week,” said Seavey. “In all honestly, I think we should have won four races this week. We had the lead the one time (at Lawrenceburg) and the caution came out. We built a little bit of a points buffer for the week and we’re starting to close the gap for the overall points lead.

“It’s just a bummer that we couldn’t finish it off on the track at Kokomo, but it’s an honor to be the Indiana Midget Week champion,” Seavey added. “A lot of great drivers have won that title before and it’s really special to me to add my name to that list.”

Seavey becomes the 11th driver to win an Indiana Midget Week championship in its 15-year history. It’s also the fifth title for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports in the last seven editions of IMW.

Past champions of Indiana Midget Week include Shane Cottle (2005-06), Jerry Coons Jr. (2007), Tracy Hines (2008, 2010 co-champion), Bryan Clauson (2009, 2011, 2016), Brad Kuhn (2010 co-champion), Darren Hagen (2012), Christopher Bell (2013), Rico Abreu (2014-15), Shane Golobic (2017) and Spencer Bayston (2018), who won the title last year for KKM but did not return this year to defend his crown.

The USAC National Midget Series season will resume on June 29 at The Dirt Oval at Route 66 in Joliet, Ill.

error: Content is protected !!