West Coast 360s
Tristan Guardino has clinched the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series championship. (Lance Jennings photo)

West Coast 360s Wrapping Up At Petaluma

PETALUMA, Calif. – This Saturday, the USAC West Coast 360 Sprint Car Series will battle at Petaluma Speedway for their final point race of the season.

Promoted by Rick Faeth, the “Adobe Cup II” will also showcase Dwarf Cars in Twin 25s and 600 micro sprints.

To date, Petaluma Speedway has held one USAC West Coast Sprint Car event, with Geoff Ensign scoring the win and setting the track record of 13.728 on July 29, 2017.

The May 18 race scheduled at the Sonoma-Marin Fairgrounds oval was rained out.

Entering the 13th point race, there have been seven different winners. Tristan Guardino and Austin Liggett lead the series with three triumphs, while Jake Swanson has two victories on the season. Chase Johnson, Kaleb Montgomery, Brody Roa, and Troy Rutherford have each posted one win.

After finishing 10th last Saturday at Santa Maria, Tristan Guardino has clinched the championship. Driving the family owned No. 15T Dorso’s Automotive/Allied Auto Stores Maxim, Guardino has three feature wins, two Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Awards, four heat race victories, ten top-10 finishes, and 87 feature laps led to his credit.

With eight victories, Tristan is tied with Peter Murphy and Jace Vander Weerd for seventh on the win list and will be looking to add Petaluma to his resume.

Ryan Timmons is second in the chase for the championship, followed by Koen Shaw, T.J. Smith and J.J. Ringo, the series’ leading rookie contender.

While Ringo leads the chase for Rookie of the Year honors, Hannah Mayhew, Slater Helt, Tanner Boul, Brent Owens and Gage Rucker are also in contention.

Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Austin Ervine, Jake Swanson, Austin Liggett, Steve Hix, Michael Faccinto, Cody Majors, Ricky Kirkbride, Brandon Wiley, Kaleb Montgomery, Ricky Lewis, Shawn Arriaga, Ricky Brophy and more.

The Petaluma pit gates open at Noon Saturday, with the front gates following at 4 p.m. and racing kicking off at 6 p.m.

error: Content is protected !!